top of page
  • Writer's pictureNoemi

diy mommy and me t-shirts

Hey Friends! If you have been following along you may know that I love crafting and you probably figured out that I absolutely love my Cricut! Cricut recently gifted me a Joy and an Easy Press 2 and I absolutely love them. I love the size of the joy, it is so easy to move from one place to another. Also, it has so many features that are amazing. My favorite feature is that you have the option to use a mat, but you don’t need a mat when you use the smart iron on, it is so convenient when you are making larger projects because you are not limited by the size of the mat. The joy also has not on and off button, as soon as it is plugged it it automatically turns on! You also control the machine via the device you are using for design space. You do not need to push any buttons for loading, start or to unload. Overall the joy is great!


I have the easy press and I love the upgrades that came with the easy press 2. The easy press 2 heats up faster that the easy press and it heats up to 400 degrees, the easy press heats up to 350 degrees! Also, the easy press 2 comes in different sizes which is so convenient when you are working with different sized projects and materials!





I decided to make matching mommy and me t-shirts for Cami and I. I used the following


Cricut Joy

Easy press 2

Cricut tools

Cricut Smart Vinyl

T-shirts


I created the design using design space and I used the fonts that included. I like the look of a cursive with a bold display font so I went with that! My t-shirt is size large and I made my design 9.5 inches in width and Cami's 5.5 inches in width. I never adjust my designs by length unless completely necessary, its just a preference of mine, Once the design was ready I went ahead and cut it. As I mentioned above using the Cricut Joy is a little different that the other machines, You choose the material setting and click the load button on your device. I used the smart iron on and I have the option to not use a mat. I chose the no mat option and I was able to get my project done in one cut, which is such a time saver! I loaded the material with the shiny side down and friends, DON’T FORGET TO MIRROR.






Once the iron was cut I went ahead and used my scissors to cut the designs. Don’t forget to save your scraps, they come in handy for smaller projects.





when you are done weeding place the design on the t-shirt. For adult sizes I place 3-3.5 inches down from the neck and I make sure that it is centered. For children sizes I place the design 1.5 inches below the neckline.





I heated my easy press 2 to 320 degrees and placed it on top of my design with a little pressure. Once it cooled down I pulled the transfer tape,

Tip: foil and Glitter Iron on need to cool before you remove the transfer tape.





You have cute mommy and me t-shirts! I love the pinkish metallic iron on! I love how it makes these t-shirts girly! Friends If you have any questions don’t hesitate to reach out! I love talking all things Cricut!





3 comments
bottom of page