top of page
  • Writer's pictureNoemi

DIY Decor

Welcome Friends!


I recently made a reverse canvas and I chose to add a photo to it that is incredibly meaninful to me.






Camila was born with a congenital heart defect and she has undergone 3 open heart surgeries and many procedures in her short lifespan. When the odds were against her, which were many times, she fought through. Time and time again she showed us that she wanted to be here, and we fought beside her. The first few months of Cami’s life I truly understood how fragile life is. At first, I was so angry. I was infuriated with God, the universe, because why?! I just did not understand. As time passed and I watched Camila fight I was filled with gratitude. This little baby was fighting so hard and she pulled through even when the odds were against her, this little fighter, she was mine? How lucky was I to have been chosen to be this little baby’s mom, who appreciated life the minute she was born. How lucky was I to be the one to offer all of my love, guidance, and support to this strong child with such will to live. Gratitude is funny that way. This design makes me smile and is a reminder of how beautiful life is, how lucky I am to have Cami running around screaming NOO; threenager in full effect over here. This child with a CHD (congenital heart defect) has brought so much joy and love into our lives and I will forever be grateful.





I have told you why this piece is so special to me, now I will tell you how I made it!



Materials used


Dollar Tree Canvas

Scissors

Hot Glue Gun

Glue Sticks





First I removed the staples from the back of the canvas. Once I took the staples off I separated the canvas from the wooden frame.





I uploaded my design to design space and sized it 4.5” X 5.4 for this specific canvas. Once I was ready to cute I mirrored it and proceeded to cut the design using smart vinyl and the Cricut Joy. I weeded the design using my cricut weeding tool.



Tip- the shiny/design always faces down.



Once I was done I placed the Iron-on on the canvas and I centered it. Once I had the design where I wanted it I went ahead and placed parchment paper (it comes included in the pack of iron on) and put my easy press on it for 30 second heated 340 degrees. When the 30 seconds are over the easy press beeps and I remove the parchment paper and transfer paper from the design.




Once the design was secure on the canvas I grabbed my hot glue gun I glue the canvas on to the wooded frame. Once I finished doing this I cut the canvas as close as I could to the wooden frame. You are also able to pain the wooded frame, but I opted out of that since I like the light wood color!I hope you enjoyed hearing why this specific craft is so meaningful to you!


Head over to these fellow mama bloggers pages to hear all about their DIY décor projects!


4 comments
bottom of page