top of page
  • Writer's pictureNoemi

DIY door mat

Hey Friends! So happy that you are here! How are you hanging on during this quarantine? How many home décor and renovation projects have you thought of or perhaps started?! Whether you are deep into DIY’s or need a little inspo you are in the right place! A few friends and I have gotten together to bring you a home décor DIY train! At the end of my post I will link all their pages and post so that you can check theirs out too!


Today I am going to share my latest project, a DIY door mat! I had a lot of fun designing it and choosing the spring colors! Although I don’t have many visitors these days, I love to see it whenever I come home and that’s what counts right?!





I created the design using design space and cut the template using my Cricut Explorer Air 2. It is a larger than mat project, so I had to do a bit of slicing so that each piece fit into my 12” mat. I used Vinyl for the template because I felt it would be a bit more convenient as it would stick to the mat and I’m not sure how cardstock would hold up with paint. I used the reverse weeding method with my template. Once I did this I went ahead and used transfer tape to transfer the template onto the mat.





I then placed the template on the mat and played with the position. Once I decided where I wanted the design I put pressure on the decal to assure that it adhered to the mat.




I then started to paint! Initially I chose black, pink, blue, and yellow but I soon found that the yellow wasn’t a great pick on this particular mat. I mixed yellow and orange and got a pretty peachy color. The results ended up giving me sunrise vibes which I loved!




I waited about half an hour before I peeled the vinyl and walah, the final result! This was a fun and moderately easy project! I will definitely be making more in the future!






Head over to these blog to see what they have created!

bottom of page