top of page
  • Writer's pictureNoemi

Self-Care is Self-Love

We see post about self-care all the time, it’s become a thing. Self-care has been glamorized and I am here for it. We see a lot about self-care, but very little about what self-care is. Is it going on expensive get a ways to disconnect? Mani & pedi? Hiking? Face mask? Facials? I mean do we have to get out of the house to do it? The answer is NO. Self-care is anything you do for you and only YOU. It is a moment of selfishness. Self-care is different for everyone, after all not everyone enjoys the same things, right? For myself, self-care looks different depending on how hectic my day was. Sometimes a few extra minutes in the shower is the best I can do, yes, I am being serious. My self-care, for now, consists of a night routine. After the kids are off in dream land (corny I know), I like to take a loonnngggg bath/shower. Then, I do my night skin care routine. It is a must in my book. I turn on a candle, eucalyptus mint from bath and body works is my favorite, and I either journal, watch Netflix, or read. Journaling is something I have picked up and I like it. After a stressful day I write my thoughts down and really process what is causing stress, if there is any. Finding the root of chaos, for me, is so important. Knowing the “why” puts my mind at ease. I am still not a pro at self-care, but I am on a mission to be awesome! Taking care of ourselves shows self-love and self-love is the holy grail of happiness.


Self-care also means taking care of your mental health. What are you feeding your mind? What stories are you telling yourself daily? Are those stories authentic or are they stories you’ve been told about yourself? Pin pointing a negative thought process is key when rewriting your story. When I am online, I have made sure I am seeing a feed full of positivity. I read somewhere that self-love and community-love go hand in hand. I had never thought about it this way, but it makes so much sense. Showing up for people and being positive and loving towards them is the best form of giving you can do. It cost nothing and the effect it can potentially have is beautiful. When someone comments something positive on one of your post how does that make you feel?


Morning and Night skin care routines are big to me and I want to share some products that I use during my night routine and my morning routine because I honestly love my serums and moisturizers. Seriously. Do you have any favorites? I am constantly on the look out for awesome products!


THE holy grail

These are my EVERYDAY products! In the morning, after washing my face, I start off the Youth To The People Superfood Peptide Eye Cream. I follow with the Ole Henriksen Truth serum. I apply a generous amount and I let my skin absorb it. I finish it off with the Youth To The People Hyaluronic Acid moisturizer. My night routine is the same except I substitute the truth serum with the Ole Henriksen Night Gel.




I CANNOT live without these masks! The Watermelon Glow Sleeping Mask is a must! When My skin is feeling a little dry this does the trick! I apply a generous amount and let my skin absorb it. When I wale up the next morning my skin feels so moisturized, I love it. I prefer to use the Ole Henriksen Truth Serum before applying the sleeping mask. I absolutely LOVE the Farmacy Bright On Mask! I feel like it really evens out my skin tone after only one use!



I have several face washes that I use, but these 2 are the ones that I always go back to. The Dr. Brandt PoreDermabrasion is AMAZING! It leaves your skin so clean and soft, one of my all time favorites! The Philosophy Purity Made Simple Cleanser is really gentle and it is not drying at all! I've tried other products that are a bit drying and that a no for me.





I love all of the Bath & Body Works Aromatherapy Collection.The Eucalyptus Spearmint Lotion I use before bed because I feel it's a little strong for a day lotion, but the Sage Sedarwood lotion is my go to for an all day wear! My car even has a Eucalyptus Mint car freshener (which I purchased at Bath & Body Works). Let me not start with the Eucalyptus Mint candles. I have a few just waiting to be used! Also, if you download their app it notifies you when certain items go on sale! I NEVER buy these things full price. I wait until the go on sale and then stock up! Yes, I am a little obsessed. #Sorrynotsorry

2 comments
bottom of page